Posted in Uncategorized

My Biggest Fear

Only when we are no longer afraid do we begin to live.’-Dorothy Thompson

    ‘The deepest craving of human nature is the need to be appreciated.’- William James

Everyone has fears. Ron Weasley had a fear of spiders. Salvador Dali feared that insects were crawling all over his skin. I suffer from the fear that nobody is going to notice me; that I will be left as just another person in the crowd, devoid of attention.

Billi Gordon, working at the David Geffen School of Medicine in UCLA, wrote that ‘All humans require attention…Getting attention is necessary for life’s vital enterprises and can be the difference between life and death in a crisis.Therefore, not getting adequate attention can threaten the quality and sustainability of life.’ We as humans want to be noticed and appreciated. Even Charles Dickens, the author of Oliver Twist, wrote that he could survive a few days on appreciation alone.

The way to get over such fear I feel is to really love what you are doing;  take some steps into the unknown:do some things which you have never done before. Take that trip you always wanted to take; go sing in a choir.

I always wanted to write a blog. I wanted my writing to reach people, to influence them. But I never had the guts to do it. I thought, what would the people reading my blogs think about me?; will they comment on my command over the language?; will they find my blog worth a read?. Slowly, I realised that such doubts may arise, but I should never pay much heed to them. What matters in the end is that you let your inhibitions go and do what makes you feel good. So, about a month ago, I finally posted on my blog for the first time. It was a book review, and the first like I received for it made my day. Today, I have around five people following my blog. I know that the number is not much, but hey, it’s a start! I am beginning to feel that I am no longer just a person in the crowd, I am the one standing at the head of it. It is a good feeling.

Author:

I am a researcher by day and an avid reader at night. Interested in short stories, travelling and classical music.

Leave a Reply

