Posted in Uncategorized

Why I write?

Power of Words

One of the first questions writers get asked is what made them start writing these short stories or novels or magazine articles or blogs? What made them take out the time to put their fingers on the keyboard of their desktop (or laptop) and type out some words in such an order which would form meaningful sentences with the capacity to influence the masses? Was it because of the fact that there are many people who are exploring writing in one form or the other these days; or because of the fact that great writers get paid well; or the fact that sometimes writing allows you to convey your message in a better way than spoken words can; or is it just because of the love for writing?

In my case, my tryst with writing did not begin until recently. I have always been a voracious reader, reading upwards of 60 novels a year.However, I was always afraid, so to say, of putting my words on paper. I would read one novel, think about writing my views on it, then grow a little afraid, fearing what others would say about my writing. I was sure they would think it sucked. And that is what-the fear of failure-held me down everytime I mustered up enough courage to write.

A little over two months ago, I decided, enough was enough. There had to be an end to all that fear, otherwise I knew that it would eat me one day.So, I started to write. First, a paragraph. Then, an essay. I wrote about random topics which I found interesting.They were not perfect writeups, but once I had put my thoughts on paper, I realised that I was feeling some inner satisfaction.I wrote reviews of books which I had read. Then slowly, I mustered enough courage to start a blog. My first post was, as you might have guessed, a book review.

So, when someone asks me, why I write, I tell them that I write for the inner satisfaction that it brings; I write to convey my message to the masses; I write to express my views and not to impress the general public; and, most importantly, I write because I love to write. In the end, it is all that matters.

Author:

I am a researcher by day and an avid reader at night. Interested in short stories, travelling and classical music.

4 thoughts on “Why I write?

Leave a Reply

